Why I love “It’s A Wonderful Life”

In the past few years, my cousins and I have taken to a new tradition. Like so many, we watch It’s A Wonderful Life. But we watch it as it was meant to be seen–in a movie theater, on a huge screen. The Brattle Theater in Cambridge plays it every year, and no matter how cold or snowy it may be, there’s always a big line outside before showtime.

A lot has been written It’s A Wonderful Life, and its place in many a movie lover’s hearts. Here’s why it resonates with me. It’s one of the few holiday films that focuses as much on sorrow as it does on cheer. Yes, it’s a Christmas movie–but one where the lead character, George Bailey, spends a good deal of time contemplating suicide. It’s a movie that dares to show that not everyone is full of cheer during the holidays. Here’s the scene that gets me every time: Jimmy Stewart, as George, slouched in a bar, praying to God, “show me the way.”

Whenever I see this, I think, “I’ve been there.” And I cry. I myself have attempted suicide. I know so damn well how George Bailey feels. I also know how he feels when he gets to see what life would be like without him. Especially when depression has me in its grip, it’s hard for me to see the impact I make on those who know me. But whenever I watch It’s A Wonderful Life, I think about the differences I’ve made in people’s lives. I know that if I ever made a successful suicide attempt, many people would be deeply hurt. I don’t want to hurt them. That’s one of the things that keeps me fighting.

So, as over-the-top as it is, I love the film’s finale, too. To me, the holiday cheer is so genuine here. It’s earned, and not forced. Above all, it’s a validation of a fact that is often hard for those of us with depression to understand. As painful as it is, sorrow eventually lifts. And true joy is possible.

On top of that, isn’t it nice to know that even a bumbling angel can get his wings? How cool is that?


2 responses to “Why I love “It’s A Wonderful Life”

  • Invisible Mikey

    It doesn’t hurt that it’s basically Dickens with a twist. In this variation of the time-tested plot of A Christmas Carol, Bob Cratchit (George) is the man in need of redemption via a magical journey conducted in this case by one spirit instead of three. George (like Bob) also has a long-suffering wife and a sick youngest child, and Harry’s toast to George, “The richest man in town” stands in for Tiny Tim’s “God bless us, everyone!” Both versions end with celebration and reconciliation at Christmas.

    In a way, it’s easier to accept that the Scrooges of the world (like Mr. Potter) stay as they are. They just don’t always win.

    Like

    • Alan Kravitz

      Wow, Mikey. I never thought to compare It’s A Wonderful Life with A Christmas Carol, but I see your point. And yes, even at the end, there are still the bad guys in the world. If you look at Jimmy Stewart’s facial expressions during that last scene, you can see that even there, there’s a little uncertainty. George is a little unsure of what to make of all the kindness–until he sees Clarence’s gift.

      Like

Leave a comment

The Waltham Review

The Waltham Review: America's Choice in Nanomedia!

Lifestyle Blog: living with fear & anxiety

A Lifestyle Blog and Podcast on Mental Health

Dearest Someone

writing through chaos

Dear Hope

Mental health advocacy through storytelling and art.

A Narcissist Writes Letters, To Himself

A Hopefully Formerly Depressed Human Vows To Practice Self-Approval

My Wonderland. Mental Health Blog

Finding normality within Bipolarity. The inner musings of a chemically challenged manic-depressive. Mildly* asocial and a purveyor of awesome.

GentleKindness

Healing Truth Artistry

Grief Happens

So Does Joy

I Want To Go To There

A Blog About: Coping with depression, the people and animals I love, and finding the things that make me really fucking happy.

Seth Adam Smith

Have Faith & Move Forward

Running Heartless

My transformation from Depressed Couch Potato to Disney Runner

The Persistent Platypus

Life's journey may not always be easy, but being true to your unique self and finding laughter in the small things makes the adventure unforgettable!

Caffeine and Salt

Watch your step, I lost my meaning.

Young & Twenty

Your 20s Playbook

The Sugarlump

A collection of the sweet morsels in my life

Diary of a quirky girl

Filling your world randomly with sunshine