Today, baseball, and the Boston Red Sox, make me happy

Alan Bosox cap

Me in my Opening Day headgear. Go Boston Red Sox!

Even with my depression and anxiety, there’s no way I’ll be down today.

Why? It’s opening day for Major League Baseball. No matter what happens between now and September, I know that my beloved Boston Red Sox will be a constant part of my life.

Though I’ve only lived in Boston for 10 years, I’ve always loved the Red Sox. I grew up in Miami, but that city didn’t have a team when I was little. So I adopted the Red Sox. I have relatives from Boston, but that’s not the reason I fell for the Sox. What hooked me was their penchant for feeling they were cursed.

This affliction even had a name: the Curse of the Bambino. The Sox won the World Series often during the early 1900s. But then they traded Babe Ruth to the New York Yankees. After that, the Yankees won World Series trophies by the truckloads. But for the Sox, it was bupkis — for 86 years. Hence, the curse.

It stands to reason that I would fall for a cursed team, because even when I was little, I felt cursed myself. My depression and anxiety would not be diagnosed for years, but I sure felt different–and even shunned–from other kids my age. In my young mind, I thought that all those cursed ball players could somehow relate to me.

I moved to Boston in 2004–the same year that the Sox finally broke the curse and won the World Series. I will never forget the euphoria that swept this city afterward. I remember going to Downtown Crossing the day after the Sox won. People were still partying. A guy dressed in nothing but a white sheet introduced himself as the Ghost of Babe Ruth, and kept yelling, “you’re free now, Boston! You’re free!” It was magical.

Since then, I’ve celebrated two more World Series championships. But there have been the down times, too. Last year was especially disheartening, because the Sox wound up in last place, even though they won the World Series the year before. How, I wondered, could they be so up one season, and so down the next? And besides, I was coming out of a major depression by the time baseball season started last year. I counted on the Sox to lift my spirits. Boy, did they let me down.

But I still watched them–and I still love them. I’m there for them no matter what. I’m not one of those people who watch every single game. But it’s comforting to know that I could if I wanted to. Especially when I’m in one of my down periods, I try to think about things that make me grateful. No matter how the Sox do this season, I know that for the next few months, they’ll be constant fixtures on my list.

But as for right now — play ball!

2 responses to “Today, baseball, and the Boston Red Sox, make me happy

  • the Prodigal Orphan

    Well, my friend, it is indeed that time again.
    I don’t care what the Hall of Records or the birth certificate or my Driver’s License or the government or the real world tells me:
    I am officially a little kid again for at least a few hours a day.
    Gonna be listening to our boys on-line and for one of one-hundred sixty-two glorious periods of respite on a virtually daily basis heading into the post-season…
    I will officially not give a lactose-intolerant rat’s impacted ass about anything else but Our Boys of Summer.
    Nothing in life remains as joyous, as exhilarating, as pure and consistent as baseball, and none of it as glorious as the Boston Wicked-F’ng Red Sox.
    And with all the talk over this past weekend about resurrection…
    I can hardly wait.

    Liked by 1 person

  • Alan Kravitz

    Well, Prodigal Orphan, they sure got off to a great start today–8-0 over Phily.

    Like

Leave a Reply

