When two depressed friends both have bad days…

I have depression. And I have a lot of friends with depression. Generally, this is a very good thing. We look out for each other, and we understand each other at times when hardly anyone else does.

But then, there are days like today. For a lot of reasons, I had a bad day today. So did my friend Kenny. He texted me, hoping I could make him feel better. But I’m feeling as crappy as he is, and I just don’t have it in me to be a cheerleader right now. In one of his texts, Kenny said “I’d love to go jump off a pier.” I wanted to respond with “I’d love to jump with you.” I stopped myself and just said “Looks like we both had shitty days.”

(Just I note here: I can say with utter confidence that neither Kenny or I really want to jump off piers. We often talk like this, but I know it’s just talk. And besides, we live in Boston. Any pier we’d jump off of would land us in icy water. After the winter we’ve had, neither of us would want to spend our last moments freezing our asses off.)

But I think we kind of are wondering what we should say to each other. Kenny said I could call him later if I’m up to it. I’ll do that. Maybe we’ll just find a way to commiserate. Or we’ll have a contest to see who’s more depressed. Who knows? But I do know of one thing we could agree on: we both can’t wait for this day to be over.

Leave a Reply

