Good morning world–and hello anxiety

Almost every morning this week, I’ve woken up with an anxiety attack greeting me. My heart pounds. My body shakes. The works. This is happening even though I make a very concerted effort to get 7-8 hours of sleep every night, so I can’t blame this on lack of sleep.

But what CAN I blame this on? I’m the type of person who always has to think up a reason for things. It’s hard for me to accept the idea that with anxiety disorder, attacks can come on for no reason at all. My doctor thinks my attacks this week may be due to daylight saving time. Initially, I found this hard to believe, because I really like the fact that there’s more light later on in the day. My doctor reminded me that I was like this last year at this time, which was comforting because I forgot about that. He believes that it’s actually common for even slight changes–like changing the time on a clock–to trigger anxiety for someone like me.

I know there have been growing calls from people who wonder why we still change our clocks twice a year. A friend of mine is literally so set against it that he’s starting his own movement to stop this outdated practice. I might just join him.

But I know this: there will probably always something that triggers anxiety for me. I just have to deal with it and wade through it when it comes. At least I’ve been able to pull myself together and function after my recent attacks, even if it takes anywhere from 1-2 hours to do that.

I just have to keep telling myself that the attacks don’t last for ever. And that when I do pull myself together, I can make myself a cup of coffee. Or eat a peanut butter and jelly sandwich. Coffee + peanut butter + jelly = a better world. I consider that a scientific fact.

2 responses to “Good morning world–and hello anxiety

Leave a Reply

