More things I fear: modern technology

Has this ever happened to you? You’re in a public restroom, and it has those sinks with no hot and cold knobs on them. You put your hand under the faucet–and of course, nothing comes out. So you move to another faucet, and still no luck. Then someone else comes to use the sink, and for them, the water comes out just as it should.

This happens to me often, and I hate it. And if I feel that way about modern faucets, just imagine how I feel about modern toilets–the ones that you either don’t flush, or the button to flush is so damn small that you need a microscope to see it.

I don’t like the feeling of not quite knowing what to do in these situations, and it happens often enough that I put modern technology on the long list of things I fear. That’s not good, because I’m in the communications business, and I can’t get away from modern technology even if I wanted to.

The other day, I got a new cell phone. It came with an instruction booklet–one that’s so tiny that it’s practically worthless. So I started “playing around with the phone.” I quickly discovered that it was easier for me to download a video of Bruno Mars’ Uptown Funk than it was for me to make a phone call. I couldn’t even figure out how to charge the damn thing. Seriously, I had to call the manufacturer on that one, and the poor guy who got saddled with helping me out became exasperated quickly.

I knew my anxiety was on the rise because he had to tell me to calm down. I did–and yes, now I know how to charge my phone. I’m still in the process of figuring out texting. Somehow, the texts come out in all capital letters, and I don’t like that.

The thing is, I just want things to be simple. In today’s technological world, they’re not–at least not for me. I’m trying to spend just a little time every day with my new phone, trying to figure it out. Eventually, I’ll get it, but I have to be patient. Oh, I do want patience. But I want it now!!!

Leave a Reply

