Trash talk

snow-on-park-ave-with-garbageThis morning, I was able to take some of my trash out for collection.

I know what you’re thinking: big deal.

Well, for me it was a big deal. Thanks to the still ongoing Snowmaggedon engulfing Boston this winter, my sidewalks (which are narrow to begin with) have been consumed by snow banks that have been as tall as six feet. Just putting the trash out on the curb was impossible, because there was no curb. The snow-covered all of it. And for good measure, the snow is still covering one of my trash bins. At this point, I don’t think I’ll see it until spring. As a result, it’s been one full month since my trash was collected.

As far as my mental health goes, this could not have happened at a worse time. Like many creative, mentally ill people, I do have issues with clutter. And I was doing so well with chipping away at that clutter–until this month, when I couldn’t even take my trash out. It was so frustrating. I wanted to get better at something, but elements beyond my control halted that.

But yesterday, I ran into a neighbor who taught me the fine art of maneuvering big trash bins in between parked cars in the snow. It’s not easy. You have to place them where sanitation workers can get to them, but they also have to be placed in such a way that they won’t tip over and ding cars–or people. Well, it took me a while to do this, but I did it. I’ve rarely been so happy to see an empty trash bin. Now, I will be able to resume my de-clutterizing, and start filling that bin up again.

Mother Nature is giving me plenty of battles this winter, but she will not defeat me. Neither will my depression and anxiety.

2 responses to “Trash talk

Leave a Reply

