Hanging on to hope

Yesterday, I posted about my tough time coping with Boston’s record snowfall. In the past two weeks, we’ve seen 6 feet of the white stuff, and no, I am not exaggerating.

We all have our ways of coping, or not coping. Most people I know–myself included–have been complaining. A lot. That’s why a Facebook post from one of my friends stuck out for me yesterday. It simply read:

The Boston Red Sox equipment truck heads out for spring training in Florida on Thursday.

Mind you, that’s not that spring training is starting, or that the Red Sox themselves are leaving for Florida. Their EQUIPMENT TRUCK is heading out.

“This guy’s really grasping at straws,” I thought to myself. Just then, one of his friends responded with, “Yeah, the truck will leave–WEATHER PERMITTING.”

I knew I couldn’t top that, so I didn’t. But my friend has the right idea. Even if he is grasping, he’s hanging on to hope–and reminding us that, even if we don’t believe it now, spring will come very soon. It sounds corny, but I see a parallel with my depression. When I’m in one of my dark periods, I think it will never end. But just like the snow and the winter, it does.

Instead of telling my friend that he was grasping at straws, I responded by thanking him for reminding me that this winter will soon come to an end. It was something I really needed to hear.

Leave a Reply

