When you’re depressed, you might want to avoid Facebook

I love Facebook. It’s a great way to keep up with family and friends, express myself–and yes, find videos of cute animals. Send me any clip of pandas or penguins, and I WILL watch it.

Like many others, I probably spend more time on Facebook than I should. But when my depression really kicks up, I tend to limit my Facebook exposure. Now, there’s a new study out that lets me know this is probably a good thing. Let’s face it–most people share only good things about their lives on Facebook. The fabulous European vacation. That delicious meal from the hottest restaurant in town. You get the idea. According to the study, seeing too much of this can lead to envy or jealousy. And that combo can get you even more depressed.

I understand this. If I’m facing a day when even getting out of bed is an effort, I don’t want to see pictures of a friend’s rock climbing trip. I have to save that for when I feel better. On the flip side, I will occasionally post things items related to mental illness on Facebook. If I’m lucky, I’ll get a few responses. But it won’t come anywhere near the responses I get when I post about our recent snowstorm. From my experience, people would much rather talk about the weather on Facebook than talk about difficult subjects.

No doubt about it; when I’m depressed, I need to spend less time on Facebook and more time talking to real live people.

You can read an article about the study in today’s Huffington Post.

6 responses to “When you’re depressed, you might want to avoid Facebook

  • lost-one

    Reblogged this on Self-injury and suicide blog and commented:
    Good read here. I can relate to this. I spend too much time on Facebook to begin with. I’m too comfortable using it to socialize online rather then in person. I’ve gotten in trouble before for spouting off against co-workers on there. I always take it down when I go through periods when I’m really depressed and anxious and my borderline symptoms are acting up. I do that to avoid posting things of frustration or things that will make others worry about me out of depression.

    Like

    • Alan Kravitz

      Thanks for the response and the re-blog, lost-one. I do know that Facebook does have specific groups for people with mental illnesses. I haven’t tried them, so I don’t know what they’re like. But again, when I’m really down, Facebook is not a good place for me.

      Liked by 1 person

  • theanxiouslydepressed

    Facebook and depression soo do not mix! Good article!

    Like

  • Robert

    This is certainly good advice.

    My only caveat is that there are a few Facebook groups (closed groups, thank goodness, so not exposed to the general public) that are specifically designed for persons with depression, anxiety, OCD, or some similar condition. These groups can be helpful and – when one has few or no social contacts in the everyday face-to-face world – a comfort.

    But overall, there’s no denying that most of us do spend much more time on Facebook than we should.

    Like

Leave a Reply

