Terry Bradshaw proves that you can have depression and still win four Super Bowls

Today is Super Bowl Sunday. If you know me at all, you know I’ll be cheering my New England Patriots.

But today is also a good day to share Terry Bradshaw’s story. For anyone who doesn’t follow football, Terry was the quarterback of the Pittsburgh Steelers when they won four Super Bowls. I was born in Pittsburgh and spent the first eight years of my life there. One of my fondest memories as a kid was attending Super Bowl 10 with my grandfather, and watching Terry and the Steelers beat the Dallas Cowboys for one of those Super Bowl wins.

For this alone, I will always admire Terry. But now, I admire him for something more. He has become quite open about his issues with depression. To him, it’s just part of who he is, and it’s nothing to be ashamed of. Terry talked about this in an interview with Esperanza Magazine. You can read it here.

So here’s a Super Sunday salute to Terry Bradshaw–a champion in the game of football, and in the game of life. And here’s some YouTube video of Terry throwing a perfect touchdown pass to Lynn Swann in Super Bowl 10. It’s a game I will always remember.

Leave a Reply

