Does mental illness have its blessings?

It’s so easy to talk about the negatives of mental illness. But does it have its positives?

Writer Jonathan Freisen thinks it does, and he blogs about it in today’s Huffington Post. I’m not sure that I completely agree with what he writes. I have both depression and anxiety, and I still tend to view them more as pains in the ass. I’d dump them both in a New York minute if I could.

But I see Jonathan’s point as I read each of his six blessings–especially Number 4, Accepting Spirit:

It becomes quite difficult to condemn when it is consistently obvious that my own life is not all together. Awareness of my own confusion allows me to accept you freely. Ironically, although I can accept you with ease, I don’t show the same grace to myself. Here is where I need you to help.

Boy, do I ever relate to that!

All in all, it’s not a bad idea to think the way Jonathan thinks. I’m not quite there yet, but it’s something to strive for.

Read the blog post here.

Leave a Reply

