The importance of showing my “True Colors”

I’ve always loved Cyndi Lauper’s True Colors. But it wasn’t until this morning, when I saw this video of John Legend performing the song, that I realized how meaningful the lyrics were to me as someone who manages depression and anxiety.

You with the sad eyes
Don’t be discouraged. Oh I realize
It’s hard to take courage
In a world full of people,
You can lose sight of it all
And the darkness inside you
Can make you feel so small

But I see your true colors
Shining through
I see your true colors
And that’s why I love you
So don’t be afraid to let them show
Your true colors
True colors are beautiful,
Like a rainbow.

Wow. There are so many times when it’s hard for me to let my True Colors shine through–unless I fake it, which really doesn’t count. My depression and anxiety both lie to me. They show me false colors, and I believe them. But with work–and hope–I can see my True Colors. I am grateful for that. And though I still have to explain myself to too many people, I am grateful for friends and family who know my True Colors–and can so often see them better than I can.

Leave a Reply

