William Styron’s “Darkness Visible” at 25

 

I just read this great piece in The Atlantic commemorating the 25th anniversary of William Styron’s memoir, Darkness Visible. It’s the author’s own account of his struggles with depression. It was one of the first books I read after I was diagnosed with depression, and it’s still one of the best books I’ve ever read about what it’s like to live with “the big black dog.”

When he wrote Darkness Visible, Styron had already become one of the most respected novelists of his time. (Sophie’s Choice is probably his most enduring work.) Who better than a novelist to describe what it’s like to live with depression?

If you’ve never read Darkness Visible, I highly recommend it. In honor of its 25th anniversary, I think I’ll re-read it. I will be reminded once again that I’m not alone.

Read The Atlantic article here.

 

Leave a Reply

