Thank goodness for my depressed friends

Driving to our weekly support group, John and I get into one of our philosophical discussions. We tend to do this often. We’re both Harvard grads, so we love to insert the proverbial intellectual sticks up our asses.

Talking about the group, and our participation in it, John asks:

“So, Alan, what do you think this all means?”

“We’re just trying to save ourselves from oblivion, I guess.”

Without missing a beat, John responds: “Isn’t oblivion kind of what we want?”

I’m stunned by two things: that John doesn’t flinch when I mention oblivion. And that his response is so damn honest. Finally, I mutter, “Yeah, but everyone says oblivion isn’t the right answer for us. We have to keep trying to avoid it.”

To which John responds, “You’re right. I can’t think of oblivion now. There’s too much damn stuff to do before the holidays.”

We both smile faint smiles, then pull into the parking lot for our support group.

This is why I love John, and all my depressed friends. We can be more honest with each other than we can be with anyone else, even people who love us. Chances are, most others would be quite uncomfortable hearing the above conversation. John and I aren’t. We know how close we’ve come. And we know that, no matter what we do, the wars in our heads are still there. On good days, we can manage them. But we have not been able to get rid of them.

When I get together with my depressed friends, we do have one rule – we do not talk about any specific form of suicide. We know that can be very triggering. But anything else is on the table, and that’s good. We need to talk, and if there are still too few people who really understand us, at least we can understand each other.

In doing so, I think we really are saving ourselves from oblivion.

 


One response to “Thank goodness for my depressed friends

Leave a comment

The Waltham Review

The Waltham Review: America's Choice in Nanomedia!

Lifestyle Blog: living with fear & anxiety

A Lifestyle Blog and Podcast on Mental Health

Dearest Someone

writing through chaos

Dear Hope

Mental health advocacy through storytelling and art.

A Narcissist Writes Letters, To Himself

A Hopefully Formerly Depressed Human Vows To Practice Self-Approval

My Wonderland. Mental Health Blog

Finding normality within Bipolarity. The inner musings of a chemically challenged manic-depressive. Mildly* asocial and a purveyor of awesome.

GentleKindness

Healing Truth Artistry

Grief Happens

So Does Joy

I Want To Go To There

A Blog About: Coping with depression, the people and animals I love, and finding the things that make me really fucking happy.

Seth Adam Smith

Have Faith & Move Forward

Running Heartless

My transformation from Depressed Couch Potato to Disney Runner

The Persistent Platypus

Life's journey may not always be easy, but being true to your unique self and finding laughter in the small things makes the adventure unforgettable!

Caffeine and Salt

Watch your step, I lost my meaning.

Young & Twenty

Your 20s Playbook

The Sugarlump

A collection of the sweet morsels in my life

Diary of a quirky girl

Filling your world randomly with sunshine