I love sleep — too much

I saw a meme the other day that made me laugh. It said:

Sleep. It’s like death. Without the commitment.

I can relate. Most mornings, it’s damn hard for me to get up and get out of bed. It doesn’t seem to matter how much sleep I got the night before, or how much exercise I get. I know this is very common among people with depression, and I don’t have the answer for it. I wish I did.

But somehow, some way, I find a way to get up. Today, I did it by checking my Facebook page. On it, I found a message from a friend who’s moving. He has a reprint of Renoir’s Bal du moulin de la Galette, and he’s not going to have room for it in his new digs. He offered it to me. At no charge. Despite the fact that I often would rather sleep more than anything else, I still have friends who are so thoughtful and kind. That makes me grateful. That makes me want to get up.

Leave a Reply

